Friday Fives

238px-mandala1_detail.jpg 

What is…

1. one place you volunteer (or would like to)? Why?          

        I volunteer with the American Red Cross.  I ‘spose I never told you why, though.  Hold on, I have to get on a conference call.  Ok, better.  The reason I got involved with the ARC is I had thought about it for years.  I knew that Disaster Services would be a cool job (and it is).  One day, something happened that got me off my ass.  We had a huge huge huge wildfire here in Colorado back in 2002 called the Hayman fire.      

      It was one of many fires that created the worst fire season in the history of Colorado.  Anyhow, I was in my backyard looking at that blood red sun that you can only understand if you have seen a forest fire sunset and there was ash falling on my deck.  The fire was about 45 miles away, but it looked outside like it was snowing in the middle of the summer.  That freaked me out, so I finally took the initiative and called them.

2. one book you’d like to see made into a movie? Why?         

         ‘The Curse of Lono’ by Hunter Thompson.  This was written back in 1980, and was Hunter’s last long form book.  He has put out about ten books since then, but they were always collections of essays, articles, or letters.  To me, it takes the style and beauty from the Fear and Loathing style of writing, and just knocks it out of the park.  It was out of print for years, but has been re-issued in a beautiful and huge coffee table art print publication.       

        I’ll tell you what an impact that book had on me, it is why I refer to myself here only as ‘Lono’.  I am Lono.   Here, go… do!   

 3. one creature (living, extinct, or mythical) you’d like for a pet? Why?                 

      a bear 

4. one place on Earth you’d like to visit? Why? 

      many places on the list, with Hawaii probably being the biggest  dream.

5. Name one talent or skill you’d like to develop? Why?                

better organization and initiative.  Why?  Isn’t that obvious?   Sometimes, it’s like you aren’t even listening to me.

Leave a Reply

