Friday Fives

christmas-cookie-mandala-u12649212.jpg

1. Pick one label that you think does describe you (race, religion, hobby, etc.).

crazy fucking hot

2. Pick one label that is often put on you, that you really think is inaccurate.

crazy fucking hot

3. Pick one label you wish could be put on you.

crazy fucking hot
4. What is one kind of label that you think is universally wrong to use (race, gender, height)?

short, fat, bald, ugly, nearsighted, flatfooted, lefthanded, surly, and short. These are all words of hate that society has left on my sad and solemn doorstep. I swear I work hard to hold my head high and be proud to be a beautiful and successful happily married dude. It’s tough, though, whenever I walk by when you yell those things. I mean, seriously, it takes me like 8 seconds to walk by your desk. Still, you take the effort to say “hey short, fat, bald, ugly…..”

you get the idea. It’s mean, and unnecessary. A simple ‘Hey Lono, great blog entry today’ would be fine. Instead, I cry.

5. Labels, used intelligently, can be a convenient rhetorical shorthand for identifying how a given person will fit into (or react to) a given situation. Labels, used incorrectly, can be an excuse for dismissing the differences still inherent in the people to whom the label is applied. Discuss.

Sweet jesus, was that the most boring sentence ever written? To be honest, I didn’t even finish reading it. It was something about labels. I buy my undershirts at the Polo outlet in Castle Rock. They are like $60 shirts for $10 each. So, really, I don’t worry about labels. They just tear right out. Don’t worry, I am not pretentious for wearing Polo undershirts, no one even sees them. I just like them because they are super comfortable. It’s my own little secret. I am, however, pretentious for wearing a Polo shirt on the outside, too! Mostly, though, I am pretentious because I am better than you.

Merry Christmas.  I love you, and appreciate your readership.  I am thankful and blessed. holly.jpg

Leave a Reply

