Friday Fives

 divine_mandala.jpg

01. What types of portable audio devices do you use?

singular, an iPod.  I use it for everything, and everywhere.  Like my security detail, I never leave home without it.   Recently, my trusted and beloved iPod died.  After four years at being used 8 hours a day… it did it’s service.  Am using the wife’s now, since she never uses it.  Conflict?  Yeah, because I bought it for her as a gift.  Now of course I feel like I really bought it for me.  I always get guilted into this, like when I bought her that sweet ass black and decker set… which she never uses.

02. What format of music do you listen to most often?

mp3, AAC, not sure what it’s called.  Whatever my iPod plays.  I don’t use CDs anymore.  They are put away, where they won’t get lost or scratched.

03. How do you get your electronic music files? (pay service [i.e Napster, iTunes, eMusic, etc.], file sharing, artist/label web sites, etc.)

glad you asked.  I’ll assume you are talking about new music.  Obviously, I have an extensive music collection loaded on here.  For new music, though, it is a mix.  I would say about 30% are physical cds, that I immediately load on the Mac.  30% is individual songs that I steal online, not wanting to pay for it.  The other 30% are purchased from iTunes.  I can’t say anything specific dictates what means I get the media from.

04. What type of headphones do you use?

generally, I don’t use headphones at all with the iPod.  At work I plug it into my computer speakers.  In the truck, I also plug it directly into the aux jack.  Mostly, in the truck, I listen to NPR.  At home, I also have a docking station for the iPod that runs it through the hifi.

05. What is currently on your portable music player that you are using? (Post artist, album title, please.)

the very last thing I was listening to Amy Winehouse’s rehab, from her breakthrough Cd ‘Back to Black’.  To give you a better feel, I will hit FULL random on the song player and report the first ten that come up.

1.  Oh Tannenbaum > a Charlie Brown Christmas

2.   Use once and destroy > Hole

3.  Waiting for Bud > Sublime

4. High Times > Jamiroqui

5. Health Clubs > Lewis Black

6.  Computer Blue > Prince

7. Nearly Lost You > Singles sntrk

8.  Bury my Heart > Indigo Girls

9.  Good times, Bad times > Led Zeppelin reunion show

10.  Never die young > James Taylor

interesting mix.  Mostly, it seems, my iPod is loaded with Bob Dylan and the Grateful Dead.  Also am surprised that Pearl Jam, Johnny Cash, or the Pumpkins didn’t show up.  I can’t say that a single one of those songs above are something I would listen to.   However, I have 3900 songs on there… so it gets pretty diverse.

Stay warm, and don’t forget to check out my election blog around the corner.  We got big stuff coming up for black history month.  Stay tuned!

One thought on “Friday Fives

Leave a Reply

