The real subtext

pic2.jpg

I used to think I understood the words to ‘Forever in Blue Jeans’. I used to think the meaning was ‘money don’t mean nothing as long as we have each other’. That is indeed romantic, and a worthy lyric for St Valentine’s day. Truly, it is a great and catchy song. It may not be cool to admit, but Neil Diamond has some great music.

If you look deeper into this song, you will see it’s a little darker. To me, it is about despair and resignation.

Money talks
But it can’t sing and dance
And it can’t walk
And long as I can have you
Here with me, I’d much rather be
Forever in blue jeans, babe

Message? As long as I have you I will be poor and penniless. For so long as we are together, I will never be able to dress better or be more ambitious than to wear a pair of blue jeans.  I’ll be so broke that a pair of jeans is all I’ll be able to afford.  Expect destitution with this gal, bubba.  As long as I have you I won’t even bother to better myself. Fuck it.

Shouldn’t your best gal inspire you to greatness? Doesn’t she? Tell you what, my gal certainly doesn’t let me sit around the house all day in blue jeans. She makes sure I get my ass to work. How about a night by the fire, baby? She says: get your ass a promotion then so we can afford a house with a fireplace. She is right to do that. She makes me better, and makes me expect more of myself.  Do you think Neil Diamond has 13 gold records from sitting around the house in blue jeans pining away about his hot girlfriend? No sir, he dumped her sweet, sweet ass and got to work.

Leave a Reply

