activist firefighters, wtf?

Read this.  It was a piece I wrote about activist pharmacists a few years ago (a term I coined, by the way).  Then, read this.

TUCSON, Ariz. — A veteran firefighter refused to respond to last month’s deadly shooting spree that left Rep. Gabrielle Giffords wounded because of “political bantering,” and it may have delayed his unit’s assignment to help, according to internal city memos.

What the fuck, right?  So, this dude didn’t want to get involved in the politics so he didn’t go.  I mean… what the fuck?  We didn’t ask him to vote.  We asked him to do his job.  I mean, if I were a firefighter, can I not put out fires in Republican houses?  I mean, I certainly would not be able to work in Douglas County.  Here is what I don’t like:  racists, homophobes, and Republicans.  I would hardly have to put a fire out anywhere in America.

All of us have to deal with folks and dogmas we don’t want to deal with.  It is why we get paid.  It is why they call it WORK.  Guess what fuckos – if you are a pharmacist, you have to help EVERYONE.  See, if you sell ice cream, you have to help EVERYONE.  And… if you are a fireman, you have to put out ALL the fires.  Imagine if you read that a pharmacist would not help a black guy.  Imagine if the fireman let the house burn because there were gays in there.  There would be an epic outcry.

So, I guess the moral of the story is… get back to work, America.

Leave a Reply

