Friday Fives – sammich time

1. What’s your favorite sandwich?

whoah.  Ease up. That is a big question.  I don’t know that we just jump right into that.  I really care for sammiches.  There are tiers, genres, sub categories.  I mean…  I should start with the Gyro.  I LOVE a good gyro, and they are very tough to find.  Many folks make gyros, but they are rarely super good.  As with many types of ethnic food, you need to go to a place that is run my middle eastern people, and that has mostly customers who are middle eastern.  You want the employees speaking whatever their language is behind the counter and in the kitchen… not English.  Then, you know you are good.  If I go to one of those types of places, I order 2 at a time.  There are a couple good places up in Denver, but nothing here in the Southland.

2. You have unlimited funds and unlimited space to make your dream abode. What and where is it, and what does it look like? Do you share it with anyone/anything?

wait.  hold on.  Why aren’t we still talking about sammiches?  You don’t just get me all excited like that and then jump topics.  I could write a book on sammiches.

3. If you made a movie, what would it be about and who would be in it?

It would be a caper movie.  I LOVE caper movies, almost as much as I love sammiches.  Here is a great sammich place, ‘Crazy Jerry’s’.  That isn’t the name of the place, that is just what I call it because the proprietor is named Jerry, and he is a bit crazy.  He makes great sammiches, and he is wicked passionate about sammiches.  Seriously, go there.  Tell Jerry I sent you.

4. If you were to start a charity, what would it be for?

Ok, obviously I have to get us back on track.  Do you know who makes a really really good sammich?  Safeway!  Yeah, they have a crappy little deli, like every chain supermarket.  BUT… they have this sammich called the ‘Chicago South Sider’  Let me tell you about it.  It’s served on a panini bread… kind of a flat bread.  On it goes roast beef, horseradish mayo (yeah, motherfucker, you just read that right) horseradish swiss.  Then… they grill it panini style.  So, the cheese is all melty.  Then, and only then, they open it up and add lettuce and tomato.  If you get someone who knows what they are doing, (usually old ladies) they know to add the tomatoes afterwards so they stay fresh.  If you get a teenage dipshit kid, he may add the tomato before they grill it.  Then the tomato gets all hot and mooshy.  Don’t be that guy.

5. What’s your favorite music video? (Bonus points if you embed/link it.)

I really like this one.  I don’t think it is a music video in the classic sense, but a great performance.  This is a cute chick named Lissie, I think she is a brit.  She is doing Gaga’s Bad Romance, which is a great song.  Dig it here.

One thought on “Friday Fives – sammich time

  1. Pingback: Friday Tens – travel edition « I am Correct

Leave a Reply

