Friday Fives – summer edition

1. Would you rather be too hot or too cold? Why?

too hot.  While hot is uncomfortable, cold scares me.  Hot won’t kill you, but cold can.

2. What’s your favorite way to stay cool?

hiding out indoors.  Having not had a/c in the last 20 years, my special go to treat is a movie.  Cold and dark.  That alone is worth $10 for a couple hours of peace and quiet.  In fact, did you know that is how air conditioning was invented?  It was a movie theater owner who invented it as a competitive angle for his movie houses.

3. What’s your favorite way to stay warm?

in the Winter…  utility bill be damned, I like it warm.  72?  Hell, 74.  The biggest piece for me is the morning. I will not get out of bed if it is too cold.  So, like everyone, i have a programmable thermostat.  So, that bastard cranks up about 30 minutes before I have to get out of bed.  Once I leave the house, it turns off for the day.  Man, I love technology.  But, it must be pretty confusing to the dogs.  “Am I crazy, or does it get really cold every time he leaves?”  It’s like a Far Side cartoon.

4. When you see or hear the word “summer”, what comes to mind?

where I grew up, Phoenix.  Desert.  Brown.  Cacti.  You see, growing up it was completely normal that it was 120 degrees every day in the summer.  That wasn’t weird to me, because it was always that way.  It was just normal, and all I ever knew.  Then, at 19, I went away to college and found out there are seasons and snow and leaves changing and things.  It was amazing, and I never lived in Phoenix again.   Nor will I.

5. Any major summer plans this year?

Yes, Seattle.  That is, once we figure out how to have someone take care of these zillions of pets we have.

Leave a Reply

