Tell me I didn’t just use the term ‘Jewier’

First off, allow me to apologize for using the term ‘jew’.  It’s short for Jewish, and I may throw it around liberally in this piece.  I am not Jewish, so I am pretty sure I am not allowed to use the term ‘jew’.  Like the ‘n word’, I believe it is reserved for a select few… of which I am not.  However, I love language and semantics and discussion.

Also, note that when I use the term ‘jew’, it is NOT meant to be a pejorative on any level.  It is meant to be a descriptor, like ‘red’, ‘tall’, or ‘bald’. 

Let’s begin, shall we?  I have a rich history of not just being correct, but inventing words and expressions.  You are welcome for that.  Well, today I may have just topped myself.  I was discussing celebrity pseudonyms with a pal.  I noticed a very consistent thread.  Folks with seemingly Jewish sounding names in show business tend to change their names to less Jewish sounding names.  An example?  John Stewart’s birth name is John Stewartleiberstineinski.  Or, something like that.  Seriously, they do. 

I get it.  Jewish people have been fucked over at every single turn in history.  WW2  was just a piece of a history of subjugation.  Remember that whole thing about Moses and the parting of the Red Sea?  That was to get the Jews out of slavery.  I think if you combine the oppressed existence of any culture or people, you would not find a struggle as fucked up as the Jewish have suffered.  So, sadly, I understand why folks may seek to lower their Jewishness on the radar of popular culture.

Recently, the Times of Israel posted a very interesting article.

Let’s be honest with ourselves, here, fellow Jews. We do control the media. We’ve got so many dudes up in the executive offices in all the big movie production companies it’s almost obscene. Just about every movie or TV show, whether it be “Tropic Thunder” or “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” is rife with actors, directors, and writers who are Jewish. Did you know that all eight major film studios are run by Jews?

So, here is my far fetched point.  Would it not seem to make sense to play up one’s Jewish roots and heritage in an environment dominated by the same team?  If you were seeking to dazzle agents, studio heads, managers and the like… would it not make sense to change one’s name to something- um, you know, jewier?

Leave a Reply

