Friday Fives – rain edition

1. What type of mood are you generally in on a rainy day?

super happy and romantic.  Not romantic in a sexy way, but in a nostalgic childhood happiness way.  Why?  Well, am from Phoenix and Denver.  What do these places have in common?  It never rains.  Ever.  In Phoenix, when it rained, it rained HARD.  Like, pull over because your windshield wipers can’t help you.  We called them the August ‘monsoons’.  I feel bad using that term, though.  Know where it comes from?  ‘Monsoon’ is a weather term from India.  When they have monsoons people die.  A shit ton of people die every year, even though they know the rains are coming.  But, I dig rain because it is such a rare event.  A real proper rain day is like a real proper snow storm stay.  Stay home with your best gal and watch movies.

Not my best gal, mind you.  No, she is at work.  I am cuddling up with your best gal.

2. What are your favorite things to do when the weather is gloomy?

are you paying attention?  I talked about all that above.  Either I am some kind of profit, or my editor is a predictable hack.

3. Have you ever been kissed in the rain?

what kind of stupid question is that?  Probably.  If I am in the rain, though, odds are I seek to get out of the rain.  The rain here is always very cold.  It is mean, each and every time.  It’s not ‘refreshing’.  Every been in the rain in Mexico?  I have, a lot.  That rain is awesome and warm and refreshing… like a midget peeing on your face.  I have walked miles in the rain in Mexico.  I travel there during the ‘rainy’ season because it is always cheaper and less crowded.

4. After the rain stops, do you continue what you were doing, or do you run outside to do something else?

these days, I go outside and inventory how much we got.  I have 5 acres of grass that completely depend on rain.  I don’t water any of it.  So, rain is like cash from sky.  Plus, I am a weather dork so I go out and check my rain meter.

5. What is your favorite drink/food to have when it’s raining outside?

It rains so rarely, I truly have no answer for that.  I remember many rain concerts in Colorado, each one sucked.  I still can’t stand hearing Medeski, Martin, and Wood.  I saw them years ago at a music festival up in Winterpark.  Do you know how cold rain is at 10,000 feet altitude?  plus, their music just sucked.  Anyhow, what followed was two of my favorite sets ever, Natalie Merchant and BNL.  They weren’t just great sets, but we were all so euphoric the rain had stopped you could have played Abba for 3 hours and we would have danced.  At these shows, there is never any rain cover for the cheap seats.

Leave a Reply

