Friday Fives – more movies, I guess

5de556c36fe60b0535e9bce57de4c91c
What movie can you watch over and over without ever getting tired of?

there are many, but tops is probably Princess Bride.  I know that isn’t exactly a deep reveal.  Lemme see if I can give you a ‘deep reveal’.  the movie Big Fish.  It is just absolute perfection.  I don’t know any of the dialogue to it, but it is masterfully made.  Imagine this for a second… imagine if Tim Burton tried to make a beautiful movie… instead of a dark movie.   Well, he did!  This is Tim Burton.  This means, of course, he gave his wife every roll in the film.

but seriously, find it and BUY it.  Don’t just rent it.

Wanna go deeper, and weirder?  the favorite movie of my youth was Harold and Maude.  It’s literally a Tim Burton film before Tim Burton was born.  Cat Stevens does the whole soundtrack, too.

Replace a word in a movie titles with “fuck”, what’s the movie about now? 

we goin’ rule 34?  Big Fucking Fish.  Hmm.  Pretty sure that is about Kanye and fish sticks, fam.

Which minor character do you wish had their own spinoff?

I think we could all watch a feature film of Miracle Max’s life.

What is the biggest movie plot-hole you have ever seen?

nothing I can think of.  I am a pretty big fan of suspension of disbelief.  I LOVE movies.  When I can, I watch a movie every night.  Sadly, I am not a big critical thinker on this stuff.  I know there are people who LIVE to find these errors, and it seems so sad.  You watch a movie to be entertained, and to put yourself in their hands.  if you do this to look for problems, you should put that energy into science.

What movie made you most paranoid after watching it?

I don’t watch scary or horror movies.  I can’t handle them.  Here is an example, years ago we were watching a Nicole Kidman horror movie called (I think) the Hours.  So long ago, it was probably on VHS.  We were watching it at night.  I was so freaked out I had to stop it and could only finish it in the daylight.

YET… if these horror movies are thoughtful and interesting, I am in.  I loved Get Out, and I think ‘Cabin in the Woods’ was brilliant!  Tucker and Dale vs Evil is also super super good.  On the other hand… something like ‘Saw’… I could never watch that.  And if I did… it would have to be daylight out.  Not something I could watch at home in the dark.

 

 

Leave a Reply

